Botswana’s Makwala , Lesotho’s Lehata set national sprint records in La Chaux-de-Fonds

ISAAC Makwala of Botswana stole the limelight at the La Chaux-de-Fonds international meet in Switzerland on Sunday (08 July). Over the years this meet staged at the Stade de la Charriere in western Switzerland close to the border with France is renowned for the fast track where sprinters impress. Such is the reputation of this [...]

Kiprotich, Nambawa in running for USPA awards

Double African women’s triple jump champions Sarah Nambawa (above) looks set to be crowned Uganda Sports Press Association (USPA) 2012 Sportswoman of the Year. Olympic marathon champion Stephen Kiprotich is the front runner for the award in the men’s category. OLYMPIC marathon champion Stephen Kiprotich is clearly the front runner for the Uganda’s 2012 Sports [...]

Jacobs, Omotoso, Gbagbeke and Okagbare qualify for Olympics with personal bests

All Africa Games 400m hurdles champion Ajoke Odumosu retained her Nigeria national title in a world class time of 55.08 in Calabar on Thursday (21 June). NEN FIND Regina Jacobs and Stanley Gbagbeke qualified for the London Olympics at the AFN Cross River State All Nigeria Athletics Championships in Calabar on Thursday (21 June). Running [...]

Oke,Metu, Adigun shine in Calabar

African triple jump champion Tosin Oke retained his Nigeria championship title with a life time best of 17.23m (+0.8) at the AFN/All Nigeria Cross River State Athletics Championships in Calabar on Wednesday (20 June). Obinna Metu required a lifetime best of 10.11 seconds to reclaim the Nigeria 100m championships title A fully recovered Seun Adigun [...]

Namibian Mayova, Mokoena triumph in Tempere Finland

Namibian Globina Mayova started her European outdoor season on a positive note winning the 200m in Tempere, Finland NAMIBIAN Globine Mayova emerged victorious in the women’s 200m at the Tampere International meet in Finland on Sunday (10 June). Kenyan Gideon Kipng’tich prevailed in 800m.While South Africans Khotso Mokoena, Lynique Prinsloo, and Charlene Potgieter won the [...]