Abera, Tsegaye led Ethiopia’s dominant show in Dubai

Ethiopians Tesfaye Dibaba Abera and Tirfi Beyene Tsegaye were crowned winners at the Standard Chartered Dubai Marathon in the United Arab Emirates on Friday (22 January). Abera’s winning time of 2:04:24 is a massive improvement of his personal best from 2:09:46 when he won the Mumbai Marathon in India last year. Defending champion Lemi Hayle [...]

Mozia set Nigeria record, tops world shot put ranking

Nigeria Stephen Mozia stole the limelight at the Commodore Invitational Indoor Meeting in Nashville Tennessee State USA on Saturday (16 January). Mozia claimed victory in the shot put with a lifetime best of heave of 21.03m. He surpassed his Nigerian outdoor record of 20.46m attained in Eugene Oregon State in June last year. A mechanical [...]

Kipketer, Gemeno triumph in Mumbai India

Kenya’s Gideon Kipketer and Ethiopian Shuko Genemo emerged winners at the Standard Chartered Mumbai Marathon in India on Sunday (17 January). Kipkter claimed victory in the men’s race with a time of 2:08:35. Ethiopian Seboka Dibaba and Kenyan Marius Kimutai placed second and third respectively. Meanwhile Ethiopian Shuko Genemo covered the distance in 2:27:50 to [...]

World champs Yego, Kiyeng, Bett honored at Kenya’s 2015 Sports Personality of the Year Awards

World Athletics Championship gold medallists Julius Yego, Hyvin Kiyeng and Nicholas Bett stole the limelight at Kenya’s 2015 Sports Personality of the Year Awards in Nairobi Kenya on Friday (16 January) The world javelin champion Julius Yego was crowned Male Sports Personality of the Year, while the World 3000m steeplechase champion Hyvin Kiyeng was named [...]

Merga, Aprot triumph in Campaccio-IAAF Cross Country Permit meet

Ethiopian Imane Merge and Alice Aprot of Kenya were crwnd winners at the IAAF Cross Country Permit meet in Campaccio San Giorgio Su Legnano in Italy on Wednesday (06 January). Merga and fellow Ethiopian Yasin Haji the world junior cross country champion Yasin Haji were credited with an identical time of 28:50 for the 10km [...]