Dibaba, Kiprop win 10,000m in Eugene

Tirunesh Dibaba (right) signalled her intent to retain her Olympic crown in London later this year when she won the women’s 10,000m race in a world leading time at the Samsiung Diamond League in Eugene, Oregon State, USA on Saturday morning (02 June).

ETHIOPIAN Olympic champion Tirunesh Dibaba and Kenyah Wilson Kiprop run the quickest women’s and men’s 10,000m this year at the Samsung Diamond League in Eugene Oregon State, USA on Saturday morning (02 June).
Dibaba confirmed she is serious about retaining her Olympic crown when she outpaced Kenya’s 2009 World Cross countrychampions Florence Kiplagat in the sprint for the finish line to claim victory in a world leading time of 30:24.39. Kiplagat (30:24.85) was runner up ahead of another Ethiopian Beleynesh Olijira who covered the distance in a personal best of 30:26.70
This meet which is also known as the Prefonteine Classic was the final Kenyan men’s 10,000m Olympic trial. The top three confirmed their tickets to London. With so much at stake it came as no surprise that the race produced the fastest six performances this year.
Kiprop covered the distance in a world leading time of 27:01.98. Moses Ndiemas Masai (27:02.25) was second while Bitan Karoki produced a personal best of 27:05.50 to confirm his ticket to the Olympics. The rest of the meet program follows later in the day.
PB denotes Personal Best
NR denotes National Record
J denoted Athlete in Junior age group (Under-19)
Y denotes Athlete in Youth age group (Under-17)
WL denotes the fastest time in the world this year
OQA denotes London Olympic A qualifying standard
OQB denotes London Olympic B qualifying standard
One Mile
1 James Kiplagat Magut (Kenya) 3:54.16; 3 Aman Wote (Ethiopia) 3:54.73; 6 Gideon Gathimba (Kenya) 3:56.17; 7 Tesfaye Cheru (Ethiopia) 3:56.50; Dawit Wolde (Ethiopia) 3:57.4814 Alfred Kirwa Yego (Kenya) 4;01.98; 15 Elijah Kipchirchir (Kenya) 4:02.70
10,000m (All Athletes in the race are Kenya)
1 Wilson Kiprop 27:01.98 OQA/WL; 2 Moses Ndiema Masai 27:02.25 OQA; 3 Bitan Karoki 27:05.50 PB/OQA; 4 Emmanuel Kipkemei Bett 27:07.90 OQA; 5 Geoffrey Kirui 27:08.44 OQA; 6 Lucas Kimeli Rotich 27:09.38 OQA; 7 Eliud Kipchoge 27:11.93 OQA; 8 Mark Kosgei Kiptoo 28:18.22 OQA; 9 Micah Kemboi Kogo 27:23.04 OQA; 10 Mike Kipruto Kigen 27:23.75 PB/OQA; 11 Paul Kipng’tich Tanui 27:27.56 OQA; 12 Denis Masai 27:32.79 OQA; 13 Josphat Kipkoech Bett 27:39.65 OQA; 14 Kevin Chelimo 27:46.10 OQB; 15 Titus Kipchumba Mbishei 27:59.15 OQB
6 Tizita Bogale (J) (Ethiopia) 4:09.41
1 Tirunesh Dibaba (Ethiopia) 30:24.39 OQA/WL; 2 Florence Kiplagat (Kenya) 30:24.85 OQA; 3 Beleynesh Olijira (Ethiopia) 30:26.70 PB/OQA; 4 Werknesh Kidane (Ethiopia) 30:50.16 OQA; 5 Aberu Kebede (Ethiopia) 31:09.28 OQA; 6 Lineth Chepkurui (Kenya) 31:28.56 OQA; 7 Sule Utura (Ethiopia) 31:41.54 PB/OQA; 8 Caroline Nyakogwa (Kenya) 31:42.25 PB/OQA; 9 Abebech Afework (Ethiopia) 31:48.53 PB/OQB; 10 Ahera Kiros (Ethiopia) 32:03.85 OQB; 11 Pauline Chemning Korikwiang (Kenya) 32:19.32;

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.